Uncelebrate Women’s Day : PC Chandra Jewellers by JWT Kolkata

In a world that has been male-dominated for centuries, gender bias and discrimination has seeped into our cultural fabric and rule our entire lives.

How often have you heard boys being told ‘Don’t cry like a girl’? How often have you thought men look ‘cool’ in shorts while girls look ‘hot’? Have you ever thought why children always take on the father’s surname? The phrase ‘working-mom’ is popular, but not so with ‘working-dads’? Why are daughters barred from performing the last rites of their parents?

Our daily life is strewn with many such small mindless examples of such bias. Simple acts that come naturally, are often sub-consciously guided by the male way of thinking.

Even Women’s Day is the same. It’s a 24-hours carnival to make women feel at the top of the world. Social media gets flooded with dollops of praise for women and gender equality. But on the strike of the midnight hour, the world goes back to its normal ways of bias and discrimination.

PC Chandra Jewellers, a brand that stands for the modern empowered women, decided to change this pseudo-narrative of equality. We went out and spoke to women across the city about bias and discrimination that they face in their day to day lives. They poured their heart out. Most of them spoke about the small, small instances of unconscious gender bias that have become a part of our daily lives. We collected the interviews in an appeal video with a clarion call to #UncelebrateWomensDay.

Client: PC Chandra Jewellers
Agency: JWT Kolkata
Chief Creative Officer: Senthil Kumar
VP & ECD: Arjun Mukherjee
Creative Director: Moeinuk Sengupta, Nabendu Saha, Tandra Chakravarty
VP & EBD: Ayan Chakraborty
Client Servicing: Sreeparna Gupta, Sushmita Byapari
Production House: Made in Calcutta
Directed by: Abhishek Sinha
D.O.P: Mrinmoy Nandi
Editor: Arghyakamal Mitra
Music: Gaurab Chatterjee
Location Sound: Rakesh Banerjee
Sound Design & Mixing: Amit Kumar Dutta
Colourist: Ritajit Raychaudhuri
Make-up: Ujjwal Dutta
Special Thanks to: Chandreyee Ghosh, Paroma Banerjee, Anisha Mandal, Sarmishta Pandey, Koyel Nath Goswami, Akansha Ghoshal, Brinda Biswas, Sakhi Ray, Sayasi Ghosh and Ayushi Haldar.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *